Transcontinental Inc. announces its financial results for the first quarter of Fiscal 2017

Highlights

  • Revenues increased by $4.7 million, or 0.9%.
  • Operating earnings increased by $10.8 million, or 20.9%. Adjusted operating earnings, which exclude restructuring and other costs (revenues) and impairment of assets, increased by $4.2 million, or 7.4%.
  • Net earnings increased by $5.4 million, or 14.5%. Adjusted net earnings, which exclude restructuring and other costs (revenues) and impairment of assets, net of related taxes, decreased by $0.1 million, or 0.2%.
  • Conclusion of an expanded agreement with Lowe's Canada which includes the renewal of the agreement with RONA and the addition of the printing of Lowe's flyers in Canada. This agreement represents revenues of $200 million over five years and includes all services to retailers for all Lowe's and RONA banners in the country.
  • The Board of Directors approved an 8.1% increase in the dividend per share to $0.80 per year.

Montreal, March 3, 2017 - Transcontinental Inc. (TSX: TCL.A TCL.B) announces its results for the first quarter of Fiscal 2017, which ended January 29, 2017.

"I am proud of our results for the first quarter, which show an increase in our revenues and profitability while we successfully continue our transformation", said François Olivier, President and Chief Executive Officer of TC Transcontinental. "Our performance confirms the effectiveness of our strategy, which we are executing in a disciplined manner."

"For the printing division, we are pleased to announce that we have entered into an expanded agreement with Lowe's Canada. In addition to renewing our agreement for the full range of services offered to RONA, we have expanded our business relationship with Lowe's, which has entrusted us with the printing of its flyers in Canada. This multi-year agreement, which includes all our retailer-related services for all of the Lowe's and RONA banners across the country, reflects their support of Canadian suppliers. It is also a mark of confidence in the quality of our services."

"In the Media Sector, the efficiency measures deployed over the last few quarters, combined with our exit from all our interactive marketing activities, continued to mitigate the impact of lower local newspapers advertising revenues on our profitability."

"As for our packaging division, we are finalizing the integration of Flexstar Packaging, which is proceeding according to plan. To support our transformation and our growth ambitions in this division, we continue to deploy significant resources to develop our sales force and invest in our manufacturing platform to meet our future needs. Considering our growing sales funnel, we are confident that these initiatives will yield results."

"With our sound financial position and our significant cash flows, we are well positioned to ensure our sustainable growth and continue to diversify our assets into packaging."

2017 First Quarter Results
Revenues for the first quarter of 2017 went from $498.9 million to $503.6 million, an increase of 0.9%. The contribution from acquisitions, in particular in the packaging division, and the favourable exchange rate effect more than offset the loss of revenues related to disposals and closures in the Media Sector and the decrease in revenues from existing operations. In the printing division, revenues from existing operations declined. This decrease was mitigated by the stable demand from Canadian retailers for printed flyers and door-to-door distribution services as well as the increase in revenues from premedia and in-store marketing services. In addition, the agreement to print the Toronto Star, which started in July 2016, partially offset the negative impact of the sustained decline in advertising spending in several activities as well as the completion of the agreement to print Canada's census form in 2016. In the packaging division, revenues from existing operations increased slightly compared to the first quarter of 2016. In the Media Sector, the decline in advertising revenues continued to have a negative impact on local newspaper publishing activities.

Adjusted operating earnings went from $57.1 million to $61.3 million in the first quarter of 2017, an increase of 7.4%. Excluding the unfavourable effect of $8.3 million related to stock-based compensation as a result of the significant change in the share price in the first quarter of 2017 compared to the corresponding period in 2016, adjusted operating earnings increased by 21.9%. This increase is attributable to the contribution from acquisitions, the favourable exchange rate effect as well as the increase in adjusted operating earnings from existing operations. This growth in adjusted operating earnings from existing operations is due to the continued cost reduction initiatives throughout the Corporation, partially offset by the lower revenues mentioned above.

Net earnings increased from $37.3 million in the first quarter of 2016 to $42.7 million in the first quarter of 2017. This increase is mainly explained by higher operating earnings, partially offset by the increase in net financial expenses and income taxes. On a per share basis, net earnings increased from $0.48 to $0.55. Excluding restructuring and other costs (revenues) and impairment of assets, net of related income taxes, adjusted net earnings decreased by $0.1 million, or 0.2%, from $41.4 million in the first quarter of 2016 to $41.3 million in the first quarter of 2017. On a per share basis, adjusted net earnings remained stable at $0.53.

For more detailed financial information, please see Management's Discussion and Analysis for the first quarter ended January 29th, 2017 as well as the financial statements in the "Investors" section of our website at www.tc.tc

Outlook for 2017
In the printing division, we expect stable revenues from our offering to current retailers, in particular flyer printing and door-to-door distribution services, as well as higher revenues from premedia and in-store marketing product services. In addition, we will benefit from the new agreement with Lowe's Canada to print their flyers in Canada. We will also benefit from the additional contribution from the agreement to print the Toronto Star until the end of June, and we are pursuing our initiatives to secure new newspaper printing outsourcing contracts. However, these favourable elements should be affected by a decrease in volume from certain newspaper publishers as a result of reduced circulation. Furthermore, our commercial and magazine printing activities will be affected by a reduction in print advertising. Lastly, the completion of the non-recurring contract to print Canada's census form in the second quarter of 2016 will have an unfavourable effect in the second quarter of 2017. With respect to adjusted operating earnings, we will continue our operational efficiency initiatives as in the past.

In our packaging division, we will benefit from the contribution from the acquisition of Robbie Manufacturing until the end of June, and from the acquisition of Flexstar Packaging until the end of our fourth quarter. In addition, once fully integrated, these acquisitions will also generate synergies. Furthermore, to support our transformation and future growth, we will continue to deploy resources to strengthen our sales force and develop our manufacturing platform. Lastly, we will maintain our disciplined acquisition approach in this promising market in order to invest in quality assets that meet our strategic criteria.

In the Media Sector, the impact of the transformation of the advertising market on our local newspaper publishing activities will continue, but will be partly offset by our cost reduction initiatives and our strategic exit from our interactive marketing solutions activities until the end of our second quarter of 2017. With respect to the Business and Education group, we expect that revenues and adjusted operating earnings will remain stable.

To conclude, we expect to generate significant cash flows and maintain our excellent financial position, which should enable us to continue investing to support our transformation into flexible packaging.

Reconciliation of Non-IFRS Financial Measures
Financial information has been prepared in conformity with IFRS. However, certain measures used in this press release do not have any standardized meaning under IFRS and could be calculated differently by other companies. We believe that many readers analyze our results based on certain non-IFRS financial measures because such measures provide a better indicator of the performance of the Corporation's activities. Management uses such non-IFRS financial information to evaluate the performance of its operations and managers. These measures should be considered in addition to, not as a substitute for or superior to, measures of financial performance prepared in accordance with IFRS.

Dividend
The Corporation's Board of Directors declared a quarterly dividend of $0.20 per share on Class A Subordinate Voting Shares and Class B Shares. This dividend is payable on April 19, 2017 to shareholders of record at the close of business on April 3, 2017. The Corporation thus increased the dividend per participating share by 8.1%, or $0.06, raising the annual dividend from $0.74 to $0.80 per share. This increase reflects TC Transcontinental's solid cash flow position.

Additional Information

Annual General Meeting of Shareholders
Transcontinental Inc. will hold its Annual General Meeting of Shareholders today at 1:30 p.m. at the Saint James's Club, 1145 Union Avenue, in Montreal. For those who are unable to attend in person, an audio webcast of the meeting will be available as of March 6 on the Corporation's website www.tc.tc.

Conference Call
Upon releasing its first quarter 2017 results, the Corporation will hold a conference call for the financial community today at 11:30 a.m. The dial-in numbers are 1 647 788-4922 or 1 877 223-4471. Media may hear the call in listen-in only mode or tune in to the simultaneous audio broadcast on the Corporation's website, which will then be archived for 30 days. For media requests or interviews, please contact Nathalie St-Jean, Senior Advisor, Communications of TC Transcontinental, at 514-954-3581.

Profile
Canada's largest printer with operations in print, flexible packaging, publishing and digital media, TC Transcontinental's mission is to create products and services that allow businesses to attract, reach and retain their target customers.

Respect, teamwork, performance and innovation are strong values held by the Corporation and its employees. The Corporation's commitment to its stakeholders is to pursue its business and philanthropic activities in a responsible manner.

Transcontinental Inc. (TSX: TCL.A TCL.B), known as TC Transcontinental, has close to 8,000 employees in Canada and the United States, and revenues of C$2.0 billion in 2016.  Website  www.tc.tc

Forward-looking Statements
Our public communications often contain oral or written forward-looking statements which are based on the expectations of management and inherently subject to a certain number of risks and uncertainties, known and unknown. By their very nature, forward-looking statements are derived from both general and specific assumptions. The Corporation cautions against undue reliance on such statements since actual results or events may differ materially from the expectations expressed or implied in them. Forward-looking statements may include observations concerning the Corporation's objectives, strategy, anticipated financial results and business outlook. The Corporation's future performance may also be affected by a number of factors, many of which are beyond the Corporation's will or control. These factors include, but are not limited to, the economic situation in the world and particularly in Canada and the United States, structural changes in the industries in which the Corporation operates, the exchange rate, availability of capital, energy costs, competition, the Corporation's capacity to engage in strategic transactions and integrate acquisitions into its activities, the regulatory environment, the safety of its packaging products used in the food industry, innovation of its offering and concentration of its sales in certain segments. The main risks, uncertainties and factors that could influence actual results are described in Management's Discussion and Analysis (MD&A) for the fiscal year ended on October 31st, 2016, in the latest Annual Information Form and have been updated in the MD&A for the first quarter ended January 29th, 2017.

Unless otherwise indicated by the Corporation, forward-looking statements do not take into account the potential impact of nonrecurring or other unusual items, nor of divestitures, business combinations, mergers or acquisitions which may be announced after the date of March 3, 2017.

The forward-looking statements in this press release are made pursuant to the "safe harbour" provisions of applicable Canadian securities legislation.

The forward-looking statements in this release are based on current expectations and information available as at March 3, 2017. Such forward-looking information may also be found in other documents filed with Canadian securities regulators or in other communications. The Corporation's management disclaims any intention or obligation to update or revise these statements unless otherwise required by the securities authorities.

- 30 -

For information:

Media
Nathalie St-Jean
Senior Advisor, Communications
TC Transcontinental
Telephone: 514-954-3581
 
Financial Community
Shirley Chenny
Advisor, Investor Relations
TC Transcontinental
Telephone: 514-954-4166

Transcontinental inc. annonce ses résultats financiers du premier trimestre de 2017

Faits saillants

  • Les revenus ont augmenté de 4,7 millions de dollars, soit 0,9 %.
  • Le résultat opérationnel a augmenté de 10,8 millions de dollars, soit 20,9 %. Le résultat opérationnel ajusté, qui exclut les frais de restructuration et autres coûts (revenus) et la dépréciation d'actifs, a augmenté de 4,2 millions de dollars, soit 7,4 %.
  • Le résultat net a augmenté de 5,4 millions de dollars, soit 14,5 %. Le résultat net ajusté, qui exclut les frais de restructuration et autres coûts (revenus) et la dépréciation d'actifs, déduction faite des impôts y afférents, a diminué de 0,1 million de dollars, soit 0,2 %.
  • Conclusion d'une entente élargie avec Lowe's Canada qui comprend le renouvellement de l'entente avec RONA et l'ajout de l'impression des circulaires de Lowe's au Canada. Cette entente représente des revenus de 200 millions de dollars sur cinq ans et comprend tous les services aux détaillants pour l'ensemble des bannières de Lowe's et de RONA au pays.
  • Le conseil d'administration a approuvé une augmentation du dividende de 8,1 % par action, le portant à 0,80 $ par année.

Montréal, le 3 mars 2017 - Transcontinental inc. (TSX : TCL.A TCL.B) annonce ses résultats pour le premier trimestre de l'exercice 2017 clos le 29 janvier 2017.

« Je suis fier de nos résultats du premier trimestre qui affichent une augmentation de nos revenus et de notre profitabilité alors que nous poursuivons notre transformation avec succès, a déclaré François Olivier, président et chef de la direction de TC Transcontinental. Notre performance confirme l'efficacité de notre stratégie que nous exécutons avec rigueur.

« Du côté de la division de l'impression, nous sommes heureux d'annoncer que nous avons conclu une entente élargie avec Lowe's Canada. En plus du renouvellement de notre entente pour la totalité des services offerts à RONA, nous avons élargi notre relation d'affaires avec Lowe's qui nous confie le volet impression de ses circulaires au Canada. Cette entente pluriannuelle, qui comprend tous nos services aux détaillants pour l'ensemble des bannières de Lowe's et de RONA au pays, témoigne de leur soutien aux fournisseurs canadiens. Elle constitue également une marque de confiance envers la qualité de nos services.

« Au chapitre du secteur des médias, les mesures d'efficacité déployées au cours des derniers trimestres, combinées à notre retrait de la totalité de nos activités de marketing interactif, ont continué d'atténuer les effets de la baisse des revenus publicitaires des journaux locaux sur notre profitabilité.

« Quant à notre division de l'emballage, nous sommes à finaliser l'intégration de Flexstar Packaging qui se déroule comme prévu. Afin de soutenir notre transformation et nos aspirations de croissance dans cette division, nous continuons à déployer des ressources significatives pour développer notre force de vente et à investir dans notre plateforme manufacturière pour répondre à nos besoins futurs. Considérant notre bassin grandissant de clients potentiels, nous avons confiance que ces initiatives porteront leurs fruits.

« Grâce à notre saine situation financière et à nos importants flux de trésorerie, nous sommes en excellente position pour assurer notre croissance durable et poursuivre la diversification de nos actifs en emballage. »

Résultats du premier trimestre de 2017
Les revenus du premier trimestre de 2017 sont passés de 498,9 millions à 503,6 millions de dollars, représentant une hausse de 0,9 %. La contribution des acquisitions, notamment dans la division de l'emballage, et l'effet favorable du taux de change ont plus que compensé la perte de revenus associée aux cessions et fermetures dans le secteur des médias, ainsi que la baisse de revenus des activités existantes. Au chapitre de la division de l'impression, les revenus des activités existantes ont subi un recul. Ce recul a été atténué par le maintien de la demande des détaillants canadiens pour la circulaire imprimée et pour les services de distribution de porte en porte, ainsi que par la hausse des revenus provenant des services de prémédia et de marketing sur le lieu de vente. De plus, l'entente d'impression avec le Toronto Star, qui a commencé en juillet 2016, a partiellement contrebalancé l'effet négatif de la baisse soutenue des dépenses publicitaires dans plusieurs activités, ainsi que de la fin de l'entente visant l'impression des formulaires de recensement du Canada en 2016. Quant à la division de l'emballage, les revenus des activités existantes ont été légèrement à la hausse par rapport au premier trimestre de 2016. Pour le secteur des médias, la réduction des revenus publicitaires a continué d'avoir un effet négatif sur les activités d'édition des journaux locaux.

Le résultat opérationnel ajusté est passé de 57,1 millions à 61,3 millions de dollars au premier trimestre de 2017, représentant une hausse de 7,4 %. En excluant l'effet défavorable de 8,3 millions de dollars de la charge de rémunération à base d'actions en raison de la variation significative du prix de l'action au premier trimestre de 2017 par rapport à la même période en 2016, le résultat opérationnel ajusté a augmenté de 21,9 %. Cette hausse est attribuable à la contribution des acquisitions et à l'effet favorable du taux de change, ainsi qu'à l'augmentation du résultat opérationnel ajusté des activités existantes. Cette croissance du résultat opérationnel ajusté des activités existantes s'explique par la poursuite d'initiatives de réduction de coûts à l'échelle de la Société, partiellement contrebalancée par la diminution des revenus susmentionnée.

Le résultat net est passé de 37,3 millions de dollars au premier trimestre de 2016 à 42,7 millions au premier trimestre de 2017. Cette augmentation s'explique principalement par la hausse du résultat opérationnel, partiellement contrebalancée par l'augmentation des frais financiers nets et des impôts sur le résultat. Par action, le résultat net a augmenté, passant de 0,48 $ à 0,55 $. En excluant les frais de restructuration et autres coûts (revenus) et la dépréciation d'actifs, déduction faite des impôts y afférents, le résultat net ajusté a diminué de 0,1 million de dollar, ou 0,2 %, passant de 41,4 millions au premier trimestre de 2016 à 41,3 millions au premier trimestre de 2017. Par action, le résultat net ajusté est demeuré stable à 0,53 $.

Pour une information financière plus détaillée, veuillez consulter le Rapport de gestion pour le premier trimestre clos le 29 janvier 2017 ainsi que les états financiers disponibles à la section « Investisseurs » de notre site web www.tc.tc

Perspectives 2017
Pour la division de l'impression, nous prévoyons des revenus stables provenant de notre offre aux détaillants actuels, notamment les services d'impression de circulaires et de distribution de porte en porte, ainsi qu'une hausse des revenus provenant de nos services de prémédia et de produits de marketing sur le lieu de vente. De plus, nous bénéficierons de la nouvelle entente avec Lowe's Canada concernant l'impression de ses circulaires au Canada. Nous bénéficierons également de la contribution additionnelle de l'entente visant l'impression du Toronto Star jusqu'à la fin de juin et nous poursuivrons nos initiatives visant l'obtention de nouveaux contrats d'impartition d'impression de journaux. Cependant, ces éléments favorables devraient être touchés par une baisse de volume de certains éditeurs de journaux en raison d'une réduction du tirage. De plus, nos activités d'impression commerciale et de magazines seront touchées par la baisse de la publicité imprimée. Finalement, la fin de l'entente non récurrente visant l'impression des formulaires de recensement du Canada au deuxième trimestre de 2016 aura un effet défavorable au deuxième trimestre de 2017. Quant au résultat opérationnel ajusté, nous poursuivrons nos initiatives d'efficacité opérationnelle comme par le passé.

En ce qui concerne notre division de l'emballage, nous bénéficierons de la contribution de l'acquisition de Robbie Manufacturing jusqu'à la fin de juin, et de celle de Flexstar Packaging jusqu'à la fin du quatrième trimestre. Par ailleurs, au terme du processus d'intégration, ces acquisitions vont également générer des synergies. De plus, afin de soutenir notre transformation et notre croissance future, nous continuerons de déployer des ressources pour renforcer notre force de vente et pour développer notre plateforme manufacturière. Finalement, nous maintiendrons notre approche disciplinée en matière d'acquisitions dans ce marché prometteur afin d'investir dans des actifs de qualité qui répondent à nos critères stratégiques.

Pour le secteur des médias, l'effet de la transformation du marché publicitaire sur nos activités d'édition de journaux locaux se poursuivra, mais sera partiellement contrebalancé par nos initiatives de réduction de coûts et par notre retrait stratégique des activités de marketing interactif jusqu'à la fin du deuxième trimestre de 2017. Concernant le groupe Affaires et Éducation, nous nous attendons à ce que les revenus et le résultat opérationnel ajusté demeurent stables.

Finalement, nous prévoyons générer d'importants flux de trésorerie et maintenir notre excellente situation financière, nous permettant ainsi de poursuivre nos investissements pour soutenir notre transformation vers l'emballage souple.

Rapprochement des données financières non conformes aux IFRS
Les données financières ont été préparées en conformité avec les IFRS. Cependant, certaines données utilisées dans le présent rapport de gestion ne sont pas définies par les IFRS et pourraient être calculées différemment par d'autres entreprises. Nous croyons qu'un grand nombre de lecteurs de notre rapport de gestion analysent nos résultats en fonction de certaines de ces données financières non conformes aux IFRS puisque ces informations permettent de mieux mesurer la performance des activités de la Société. La direction utilise également ces données financières non conformes aux IFRS pour évaluer la performance de ses activités et de ses gestionnaires. Ces mesures doivent être considérées comme un complément aux mesures de performance financière conformes aux IFRS. Elles ne s'y substituent pas et n'y sont pas supérieures.

Informations additionnelles

Assemblée générale annuelle des actionnaires
Transcontinental inc. tiendra son assemblée générale annuelle des actionnaires aujourd'hui à 13 h 30 au Club Saint-James, situé au 1145, avenue Union, à Montréal. Pour les personnes qui ne seront pas en mesure de participer à cet événement, une webdiffusion (audio seulement) de l'assemblée sera disponible à partir du 6 mars sur le site Internet de la Société www.tc.tc.

Conférence téléphonique
À l'occasion de la diffusion de ses résultats du premier trimestre 2017, la Société tiendra une conférence téléphonique pour la communauté financière aujourd'hui à 11 h 30. Les numéros de téléphone sont le 1 647 788-4922 ou 1 877 223-4471. Les journalistes pourront suivre la conférence en mode « écoute seulement » ou écouter la diffusion audio simultanée sur le site Internet de TC Transcontinental, qui sera ensuite archivée pendant 30 jours. Pour toute demande d'information ou d'entrevue, les médias sont priés de communiquer avec Nathalie St-Jean, conseillère principale aux communications de TC Transcontinental, au 514 954-3581.

Profil
Premier imprimeur au Canada œuvrant dans les domaines de l'impression, de l'emballage souple, de l'édition et des médias numériques, TC Transcontinental a pour mission de créer des produits et services permettant aux entreprises d'attirer, de joindre et de fidéliser leur clientèle cible.

Le respect, le travail d'équipe, la performance et l'innovation sont les valeurs fortes de la Société et de ses employés. La Société s'est d'ailleurs engagée auprès de ses parties prenantes à agir de manière responsable dans la poursuite de ses activités d'affaires et philanthropiques.

Transcontinental inc. (TSX : TCL.A TCL.B), connue sous la marque TC Transcontinental, compte près de 8000 employés au Canada et aux États-Unis, et ses revenus ont été de 2,0 milliards de dollars canadiens en 2016. Site www.tc.tc

Énoncés prospectifs
Nos communications publiques comprennent souvent des énoncés prospectifs, verbaux ou écrits, formulés d'après les attentes de la direction et assujettis à un certain nombre de risques et d'incertitudes intrinsèques, connus ou non. De par leur nature, les énoncés prospectifs reposent sur plusieurs hypothèses tant générales que spécifiques. La Société conseille aux lecteurs de ne pas se fier indûment à ces énoncés, car les résultats ou événements réels pourraient différer de façon importante des attentes exprimées ou sous-entendues dans ces énoncés prospectifs. De tels énoncés prospectifs peuvent comprendre des observations concernant les objectifs de la Société, sa stratégie, ses résultats financiers prévisionnels et des perspectives quant à ses activités. La performance future de la Société pourrait aussi être touchée par un certain nombre de facteurs, dont plusieurs sont hors du contrôle ou de la volonté de la Société. Ces facteurs incluent, entre autres, la conjoncture économique dans le monde, notamment au Canada et aux États-Unis, les changements structurels dans les industries où la Société exerce ses activités, le taux de change, la disponibilité des capitaux, les coûts de l'énergie, la concurrence, la capacité de la Société à procéder à des transactions stratégiques et à intégrer les acquisitions à ses activités, l'environnement réglementaire, la sécurité de ses produits d'emballage utilisés dans l'industrie alimentaire, l'innovation dans son offre et la concentration de ses ventes dans certains segments. Les principaux risques, incertitudes et facteurs qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur les résultats réels sont décrits dans le Rapport de gestion pour l'exercice clos le 31 octobre 2016 ainsi que dans la dernière Notice annuelle et ont été mis à jour dans le Rapport de gestion pour le premier trimestre clos le 29 janvier 2017.

Sauf indication contraire de la part de la Société, les énoncés prospectifs ne tiennent pas compte de l'effet potentiel d'éléments non récurrents ou d'autres éléments exceptionnels, ni de cessions, de regroupements d'entreprises ou de fusions ou acquisitions qui pourraient être annoncés après la date du 3 mars 2017.

Les énoncés prospectifs contenus dans le présent communiqué sont faits conformément aux dispositions prévues dans les lois canadiennes applicables en matière de valeurs mobilières en matière d'exonération.

Les énoncés prospectifs présentés dans ce communiqué sont basés sur les attentes actuelles et sur les données disponibles au 3 mars 2017. De tels énoncés prospectifs peuvent être également intégrés à d'autres documents déposés auprès des organismes de réglementation en matière de valeurs mobilières au Canada ou à toute autre communication. La direction de la Société décline toute intention ou obligation de mettre à jour ou de réviser ces énoncés, à moins que les autorités ne l'exigent.

- 30 -

Pour renseignements :
 
Médias
Nathalie St-Jean
Conseillère principale aux communications
TC Transcontinental
Téléphone : 514 954-3581
 
Communauté financière
Shirley Chenny
Conseillère aux relations avec les investisseurs
TC Transcontinental
Téléphone : 514 954-4166