Transcontinental Inc. announces its results for the first quarter of fiscal 2015

Highlights

  • Revenues increased 1.1%.
  • Adjusted net earnings applicable to participating shares grew 36.7%.
  • Increased the dividend per participating share by 6%, to $0.68 per year.
  • Maintained a solid financial position, with a net indebtedness ratio of 1.24x.
  • Announced the sale of consumer magazines produced in Montreal and Toronto to TVA Group Inc. for $55.5 million. The  Competition Bureau issued a No Action letter, which clears this transaction. The sale is expected to close in April 2015.

Montreal, March 17, 2015 - Transcontinental Inc. (TSX: TCL.A, TCL.B) announces its results for the first quarter of Fiscal 2015, which ended January 31, 2015.

Message from the President and Chief Executive Officer
"With the results for the first quarter of Fiscal 2015, namely the 1.1% growth in consolidated revenues and the 36.7% increase in our profitability, the year is off to a good start," said François Olivier, President and Chief Executive Officer of TC Transcontinental. "Our strategy aimed at consolidating the weekly newspaper market in Quebec and diversifying into flexible packaging has been fruitful. The integration of Transcontinental Capri was successfully completed, and this asset is performing as expected. Despite lower advertising revenues, our various initiatives allowed us to be profitable and to keep generating significant cash flows. We maintain an excellent financial position, which permits us, once again this year, to increase the dividend per participating share."

"In the coming quarters, we intend to continue growing our flexible packaging business, optimizing our operating activities as well as investing in our digital offering," concluded François Olivier.

2015 First Quarter Results
Revenues for the first quarter of 2015 increased 1.1%, from $499.3 million to $504.6 million. This increase is mainly attributable to the contribution from acquisitions, more specifically the acquisition of Capri Packaging and the Quebec weekly newspapers from Sun Media Corporation. New printing and distribution agreements signed in 2014 also contributed to the increase in revenues. In addition, the appreciation of the US dollar against the Canadian dollar had a favourable impact. This growth in revenues was mitigated by disposals and closures, namely the sale of Rastar's assets, a reduction in marketing products printing activities, a transitional slowdown in flyer printing activities in the United States and, to a lesser extent, in Canada, and challenging market conditions for advertising spending.

In the first quarter of 2015, adjusted operating earnings rose 21.6%, from $43.5 million to $52.9 million. On the one hand, this performance is due to the contribution from acquisitions, disposals and closures as well as the favourable impact of the US dollar versus the Canadian dollar. On the other hand, this increase stems from the new printing and distribution agreements and the cost-reduction initiatives in the Media Sector. However, this growth was partly offset by the above-mentioned lower advertising revenues and the variation in the stock-based compensation expense.

Adjusted net earnings applicable to participating shares grew 36.7%, from $26.4 million to $36.1 million. On a per share basis, it increased from $0.34 to $0.46. Net earnings applicable to participating shares more than doubled, from $17.2 million, or $0.22 per share, to $37.9 million, or $0.49 per share. This improvement results mostly from the increase in operating earnings before amortization compared to the first quarter of 2014.

Other Highlights

  • On December 9, 2014, the Corporation extended its credit facility for two additional years, until February 2020.
  • On March 17, 2015, the Corporation released its sixth annual Sustainability Report titled "Guide. Mobilize. Achieve." This edition outlines the Corporation's progress with respect to its three-year plan (2013-2015) based on three pillars: the environment, employees and communities. To learn more about the commitments and achievements of TC Transcontinental with respect to corporate social responsibility, refer to the 2014 report, which is on the Corporation's website at www.tc.tc/socialresponsibility.

For more detailed financial information, please see Management's Discussion and Analysis for the first quarter ended January 31st, 2015 as well as the financial statements in the "Investors" section of our website at www.tc.tc

Outlook
We will continue our efforts to maximize the profitability of our printing platform in fiscal 2015. The impact of the new agreements to print newspapers and magazines, announced in 2014, should keep contributing to our operating earnings, and we will maintain our efforts to attract other Canadian newspaper publishers to our highly efficient print network. We will also continue developing solutions to meet the evolving needs of retailers, in particular with respect to our point-of-purchase marketing services. However, a decline in advertising spending should continue to impact our printing operations.

The challenging conditions with respect to advertising revenues should continue to impact our weekly newspaper publishing activities as well as our interactive marketing solutions during fiscal 2015. However, these items should be offset by our synergies related to our two recent transactions within the Media sector. Lastly, we will continue to invest in the development of our digital and interactive marketing products as well as enhance our business and education offerings.

We will continue to generate significant cash flows in the next quarters, and our excellent financial position should permit us to continue applying our multi-pronged capital management approach, which allows us to invest in our growth while increasing our dividends and reducing our debt. The results from our acquisition of Capri Packaging continue to meet our expectations, and we will maintain a disciplined approach to growth opportunities in this niche.

Reconciliation of Non-IFRS Financial Measures
Financial data have been prepared in conformity with IFRS. However, certain measures used in this press release do not have any standardized meaning under IFRS and could be calculated differently by other companies. We believe that many readers analyze our results based on certain non-IFRS financial measures because such measures are more appropriate for evaluating the Corporation's operating performance. Internally, management uses such non-IFRS financial information as an indicator of business performance, and evaluates management's effectiveness with specific reference to these indicators. These measures should be considered in addition to, not as a substitute for or superior to, measures of financial performance prepared in accordance with IFRS.

The following table reconciles IFRS financial measures to non-IFRS financial measures.

Dividends

Dividend on Participating Shares
The Corporation's Board of Directors declared a quarterly dividend of $0.17 per share on Class A Subordinate Voting Shares and Class B Shares. This dividend is payable on April 30, 2015 to shareholders of record at the close of business on April 10, 2015. The Corporation thus increased the dividend per participating share by 6%, or $0.04, raising the annual dividend from $0.64 to $0.68 per share. This increase reflects TC Transcontinental's solid cash flow position.

Additional Information

Annual General Meeting of Shareholders
Transcontinental Inc. will hold its Annual General Meeting of Shareholders today at 2:30 p.m. at the Centre Mont-Royal, 2200 Mansfield Street, Montreal. For those who are unable to attend in person, the Corporation will webcast (audio only) the meeting and post it on it's website at www.tc.tc on March 18.

Conference Call
Upon releasing its first quarter 2015 results, the Corporation will hold a conference call for the financial community today at 9:30 a.m. The dial-in numbers are 1 647 788-4922 or 1 877 223-4471. Media may hear the call in listen-in only mode or tune in to the simultaneous audio broadcast on the Corporation's website, which will then be archived for 30 days. For media requests or interviews, please contact Nathalie St-Jean, Senior Advisor, Corporate Communications of TC Transcontinental, at 514-954-3581.

Profile
Canada's largest printer, with operations in print and digital media, publishing and flexible packaging, TC Transcontinental's mission is to create products and services that allow businesses to attract, reach and retain their target customers.

Respect, teamwork, performance and innovation are strong values held by the Corporation and its commitment to all stakeholders is to pursue its business and philanthropic activities in a responsible manner.

Transcontinental Inc. (TSX: TCL.A, TCL.B), known as TC Transcontinental, has over 8,500 employees in Canada and the United States, and revenues of C$2.1 billion in 2014.  Website www.tc.tc

Forward-looking Statements
Our public communications often contain oral or written forward-looking statements which are based on the expectations of management and inherently subject to a certain number of risks and uncertainties, known and unknown. By their very nature, forward-looking statements are derived from both general and specific assumptions. The Corporation cautions against undue reliance on such statements since actual results or events may differ materially from the expectations expressed or implied in them. Forward-looking statements may include observations concerning the Corporation's objectives, strategy, anticipated financial results and business outlook. The Corporation's future performance may also be affected by a number of factors, many of which are beyond the Corporation's will or control. These factors include, but are not limited to, the economic situation in the world and particularly in Canada and the United States, structural changes in the industries in which the Corporation operates, the exchange rate, availability of capital, energy costs, competition, the Corporation's capacity to engage in strategic transactions and integrate acquisitions into its activities, the regulatory environment, the safety of its packaging products used in the food industry, innovation of its offering and concentration of its sales in certain segments. The main risks, uncertainties and factors that could influence actual results are described in Management's Discussion and Analysis (MD&A) for the fiscal year ended on October 31st, 2014, in the latest Annual Information Form and have been updated in the MD&A for the first quarter ended January 31st, 2015.

Unless otherwise indicated by the Corporation, forward-looking statements do not take into account the potential impact of nonrecurring or other unusual items, nor of divestitures, business combinations, mergers or acquisitions which may be announced after the date of March 16, 2015.

The forward-looking statements in this press release are made pursuant to the "safe harbour" provisions of applicable Canadian securities legislation.

The forward-looking statements in this release are based on current expectations and information available as at March 16, 2015. Such forward-looking information may also be found in other documents filed with Canadian securities regulators or in other communications. The Corporation's management disclaims any intention or obligation to update or revise these statements unless otherwise required by the securities authorities.

- 30 -

For information:

Media
Nathalie St-Jean
Senior Advisor, Corporate Communications
TC Transcontinental
Telephone : 514 954-3581
nathalie.st-jean@tc.tc

Financial Community
Jennifer F. McCaughey
Senior Director, Investor Relations
and External Corporate Communications
TC Transcontinental
Telephone : 514 954-2821
jennifer.mccaughey@tc.tc

Transcontinental inc. annonce ses résultats financiers du premier trimestre de 2015

Faits saillants

  • Augmentation de 1,1 % des revenus.
  • Croissance de 36,7 % du résultat net attribuable aux actions participantes ajusté.
  • Augmentation de 6 % du dividende par action participante, le portant à 0,68 $ par année.
  • Maintien d'une solide position financière avec un ratio d'endettement net de 1,24 x.
  • Annonce de la vente des magazines aux consommateurs produits à Montréal et à Toronto à Groupe TVA inc. pour la somme de 55,5 millions de dollars. Le Bureau de la concurrence a remis une lettre de non-intervention par laquelle il autorise cette transaction. La clôture de la vente est prévue pour le mois d'avril 2015.

Montréal, le 17 mars 2015 – Transcontinental inc. (TSX: TCL.A, TCL.B) annonce ses résultats pour le premier trimestre de l'exercice 2015 qui s'est terminé le 31 janvier 2015.

Message du président et chef de la direction
« Les résultats au premier trimestre de l'exercice de 2015, notamment la croissance de 1,1 % des revenus consolidés et l'augmentation de 36,7 % de notre profitabilité, permettent de bien démarrer l'année, a déclaré François Olivier, président et chef de la direction de

TC Transcontinental. Notre stratégie de consolidation du marché des journaux hebdomadaires au Québec et de diversification dans l'emballage souple a porté ses fruits. En effet, le processus d'intégration de Transcontinental Capri a été efficace et cet actif offre toute la performance attendue. Malgré des revenus publicitaires à la baisse, nos différentes initiatives nous ont permis d'être profitable et de maintenir notre capacité à générer d'importants flux de trésorerie. Nous demeurons dans une excellente position financière, nous permettant, encore une fois cette année, d'augmenter le dividende par action participante.

« Pour les trimestres à venir, nous entendons poursuivre la croissance de notre division de l'emballage souple, continuer à optimiser nos activités d'exploitation et à investir dans notre offre numérique », a conclu François Olivier.

Résultats du premier trimestre de 2015
Les revenus du premier trimestre de 2015 ont augmenté de 1,1 %, passant de 499,3 à 504,6 millions de dollars. Ce résultat est principalement attribuable à la contribution des acquisitions, précisément celle de Capri Packaging et celle des journaux hebdomadaires du Québec de Corporation Sun Media. De nouvelles ententes d'impression et de distribution signées en 2014 ont également contribué à la hausse des revenus. L'appréciation du dollar américain par rapport au dollar canadien a aussi eu un effet favorable. Cette croissance des revenus a toutefois été atténuée par des cessions et des fermetures, notamment de la vente des actifs de Rastar, d'une réduction des activités d'impression de produits marketing, d'un ralentissement transitoire des activités d'impression de circulaires aux États-Unis et, dans une moindre mesure, au Canada, et par des conditions de marchés difficiles au chapitre des dépenses publicitaires.

Le résultat opérationnel ajusté a connu une croissance de 21,6 % au premier trimestre de 2015, passant de 43,5 à 52,9 millions de dollars. D'une part, cette performance provient de la contribution des acquisitions, des cessions et des fermetures et de l'effet favorable du dollar américain vis-à-vis du dollar canadien. D'autre part, cette hausse est attribuable aux nouvelles ententes d'impression et de distribution et aux initiatives de réduction de coûts dans le secteur des médias. La croissance a toutefois été atténuée par la baisse des revenus publicitaires susmentionnée et par la variation de la charge de rémunération à base d'actions.

Le résultat net attribuable aux actions participantes ajusté a augmenté de 36,7 %, passant de 26,4 à 36,1 millions de dollars. Par action, il est passé de 0,34 $ à 0,46 $. Le résultat net attribuable aux actions participantes a plus que doublé, passant de 17,2 millions de dollars, ou 0,22 $ par action, à 37,9 millions de dollars, ou 0,49 $ par action. Cette amélioration s'explique majoritairement par une hausse du résultat opérationnel avant amortissement par rapport au premier trimestre de 2014.

Autres faits saillants

  • Le 9 décembre 2014, la Société a prolongé sa facilité de crédit de deux années supplémentaires reportant l'échéance à février 2020.
  • Le 17 mars 2015, la Société a publié la sixième édition du Rapport de responsabilité sociale de l'entreprise intitulé « Orienter. Mobiliser. Concrétiser. ». Cette édition présente les progrès vis-à-vis du plan triennal (2013-2015) basé sur trois piliers : l'environnement, les employés et les collectivités. Pour en savoir davantage sur les engagements et les réalisations de TC Transcontinental en matière de responsabilité sociale de l'entreprise, le rapport 2014 est disponible sur le site Web de la Société à l'adresse www.tc.tc/responsabilitesociale.

Pour une information financière plus détaillée, veuillez consulter le Rapport de gestion pour le premier trimestre clos le 31 janvier 2015 ainsi que les états financiers disponibles à la section « Investisseurs » de notre site web www.tc.tc

Perspectives
Nous poursuivrons nos efforts afin de maximiser la rentabilité de notre plateforme d'impression au cours de l'année financière 2015. L'effet de nouvelles ententes d'impression de journaux et de magazines annoncées en 2014 devrait continuer de contribuer à notre résultat opérationnel et nous poursuivrons nos efforts afin d'intégrer d'autres éditeurs de journaux canadiens à notre réseau d'impression des plus efficaces. Également, nous continuerons à développer notre offre aux détaillants afin de répondre à l'évolution de leurs demandes, surtout au chapitre de notre offre de marketing sur le lieu de vente. Cependant, une baisse des dépenses publicitaires devrait continuer de toucher nos activités d'impression.

Les conditions de marché difficiles en ce qui a trait aux revenus publicitaires devraient continuer de toucher nos activités d'édition de journaux et de solutions de marketing interactif au cours de l'année financière 2015. Cependant, ces éléments devraient être contrebalancés par nos synergies reliées à nos deux récentes transactions dans le secteur des médias. Finalement, nous continuerons d'investir dans le développement de nos produits numériques et de marketing interactif ainsi que de faire évoluer nos offres dans le domaine des affaires et de l'éducation.

Nous continuerons de générer des flux de trésorerie importants au cours des prochains trimestres et notre excellente situation financière devrait nous permettre de continuer notre approche en gestion du capital qui permet d'investir dans notre croissance tout en augmentant nos dividendes et en réduisant notre dette. Les résultats de notre acquisition de Capri Packaging continuent de répondre à nos attentes et nous maintiendrons une approche disciplinée quant aux occasions de croissance dans ce créneau.

Rapprochement des données financières non conformes aux IFRS
Les données financières ont été préparées en conformité avec les IFRS. Cependant, certaines données utilisées dans le présent communiqué de presse ne sont pas définies par les IFRS et pourraient être calculées différemment par d'autres entreprises. Nous croyons qu'un grand nombre de lecteurs analysent nos résultats en fonction de certaines de ces données financières non conformes aux IFRS puisque ces informations permettent de mesurer d'une manière normalisée la performance des activités de la Société. La direction utilise également ces données financières non conformes aux IFRS pour évaluer la performance de ses activités et de ses gestionnaires. Ces mesures doivent être considérées comme un complément aux mesures de performance financière conformes aux IFRS. Elles ne s'y substituent pas et n'y sont pas supérieures.

Le tableau suivant permet le rapprochement des données financières IFRS et celles non conformes aux IFRS.

Dividendes

Dividende sur les actions participantes
Le conseil d'administration de la Société a déclaré un dividende trimestriel de 0,17 $ par action sur les actions à droit de vote subalterne catégorie A et sur les actions catégorie B. Ce dividende sera versé le 30 avril 2015 aux détenteurs d'actions inscrits au registre de la Société à la fermeture des bureaux le 10 avril 2015. Par conséquent, la Société a augmenté de 6 %, ou 0,04 $, le dividende par action participante, faisant ainsi passer le dividende annuel de 0,64 $ à 0,68 $ par action. Cette hausse reflète la solide position de TC Transcontinental en matière de flux de trésorerie.

Informations additionnelles

Assemblée générale annuelle des actionnaires
Transcontinental inc. tiendra son assemblée générale annuelle des actionnaires aujourd'hui à 14 h 30 au Centre Mont-Royal, situé au 2200, rue Mansfield, Montréal. Pour les personnes qui ne seront pas en mesure de participer à cet événement, une webdiffusion (audio seulement) de l'assemblée sera disponible à partir du 18 mars sur le site Internet de la Société www.tc.tc

Conférence téléphonique
À l'occasion de la diffusion de ses résultats du premier trimestre 2015, la Société tiendra une conférence téléphonique pour la communauté financière aujourd'hui à 9 h 30. Les numéros de téléphone sont le 1 647 788-4922 ou 1 877 223-4471. Les journalistes pourront suivre la conférence en mode « écoute seulement » ou écouter la diffusion audio simultanée sur le site Internet de TC Transcontinental, qui sera ensuite archivée pendant 30 jours. Pour toute demande d'information ou d'entrevue, les médias sont priés de communiquer avec Nathalie St-Jean, conseillère principale aux communications d'entreprise de TC Transcontinental, au 514 954-3581.

Profil
Premier imprimeur au Canada et œuvrant dans les domaines des médias imprimés et numériques, de l'édition et de l'emballage souple,

TC Transcontinental a pour mission de créer des produits et services permettant aux entreprises d'attirer, de joindre et de fidéliser leur public cible.

Le respect, le travail d'équipe, la performance et l'innovation sont les valeurs fortes de la Société qui s'est d'ailleurs engagée auprès de ses parties prenantes à agir de manière responsable dans la poursuite de ses activités d'affaires et philanthropiques.

Transcontinental inc. (TSX : TCL.A, TCL.B), connue sous la marque TC Transcontinental, compte plus de 8500 employés au Canada et aux États-Unis, et ses revenus ont été de 2,1 milliards de dollars canadiens en 2014. Site www.tc.tc

Énoncés prospectifs
Nos communications publiques comprennent souvent des énoncés prospectifs, verbaux ou écrits, formulés d'après les attentes de la direction et assujettis à un certain nombre de risques et d'incertitudes intrinsèques, connus ou non. De par leur nature, les énoncés prospectifs reposent sur plusieurs hypothèses tant générales que spécifiques. La Société conseille aux lecteurs de ne pas se fier indûment à ces énoncés, car les résultats ou événements réels pourraient différer de façon importante des attentes exprimées ou sous-entendues dans ces énoncés prospectifs. De tels énoncés prospectifs peuvent comprendre des observations concernant les objectifs de la Société, sa stratégie, ses résultats financiers prévisionnels et des perspectives quant à ses activités. La performance future de la Société pourrait aussi être affectée par un certain nombre de facteurs, dont plusieurs sont hors du contrôle ou de la volonté de la Société. Ces facteurs incluent, entre autres, la conjoncture économique dans le monde, notamment au Canada et aux États-Unis, les changements structurels dans les industries où la Société exerce ses activités, le taux de change, la disponibilité des capitaux, les coûts de l'énergie, la concurrence, la capacité de la Société à procéder à des transactions stratégiques et à intégrer les acquisitions à ses activités, l'environnement réglementaire, la sécurité de ses produits d'emballage utilisés dans l'industrie alimentaire, l'innovation dans son offre et la concentration de ses ventes dans certains segments. Les principaux risques, incertitudes et facteurs qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur les résultats réels sont décrits dans le Rapport de gestion pour l'exercice clos le 31 octobre 2014 ainsi que dans la dernière Notice annuelle et ont été mis à jour dans le Rapport de gestion pour le premier trimestre clos le 31 janvier 2015.

Sauf indication contraire de la part de la Société, les énoncés prospectifs ne tiennent pas compte de l'effet potentiel d'éléments non récurrents ou d'autres éléments exceptionnels, ni de cessions, de regroupements d'entreprises ou de fusions ou acquisitions qui pourraient être annoncés après la date du 16 mars 2015.

Les énoncés prospectifs contenus dans le présent communiqué sont faits conformément aux dispositions prévues dans les lois canadiennes applicables en matière de valeurs mobilières en matière d'exonération.

Les énoncés prospectifs présentés dans ce communiqué sont basés sur les attentes actuelles et sur les données disponibles au 16 mars 2015. De tels énoncés prospectifs peuvent être également intégrés à d'autres documents déposés auprès des organismes de réglementation en matière de valeurs mobilières au Canada ou à toute autre communication. La direction de la Société décline toute intention ou obligation de mettre à jour ou de réviser ces énoncés, à moins que les autorités ne l'exigent.

- 30 -

Pour renseignements :

Médias
Nathalie St-Jean
Conseillère principale
aux communications d'entreprise
TC Transcontinental
Téléphone : 514 954-3581
nathalie.st-jean@tc.tc

Communauté financière
Jennifer F. McCaughey
Directrice principale aux relations avec les
investisseurs et communications externes de la Société
TC Transcontinental
Téléphone : 514 954-2821
jennifer.mccaughey@tc.tc