Transcontinental Inc. Increases its revenues by 12% and adjusted operating income by 21% in the 4th quarter

Highlights of the Fourth Quarter


Note 1: Please refer to the table " Reconciliation of Non-IFRS financial measures" in this press release.

  • Increase of 12.2% in revenues and 20.5% in adjusted operating income.
  • Increase of 12.5% in adjusted operating income before amortization.
  • Decrease in net income applicable to participating shares due to unusual items totaling $113.5 million.
  • Reached an agreement in principle with Hearst Corporation for new terms and conditions to print the San Francisco Chronicle.
  • Continued integration of Quad/Graphics Canada, Inc., which was acquired on March 1, 2012.
  • Start of TC Media's television production activity.
  • Maintained a solid financial position with a net indebtedness ratio of 1.32x.

Montreal, December 6, 2012 – Transcontinental Inc. (TSX: TCL.A TCL.B TCL.PR.D) ended fiscal 2012 on a very good note with revenues up 12.2% in the fourth quarter from $521.6 million to $585.1 million. This increase is mainly due to the acquisition of Quad/Graphics Canada, Inc. and acquisitions in the Media Sector, namely Redux Media. Excluding acquisitions and closures, and the impact of fluctuations in the exchange rate and paper, organic revenue growth was $0.8 million, or 0.2%.

Fourth quarter adjusted operating income rose 20.5%, from $80.0 million to $96.4 million. This increase stems mainly from the synergies from the integration of Quad/Graphics Canada, Inc., the optimization of the operational structure of digital operations and a higher volume from educational book publishing activities. Adjusted net income applicable to participating shares, which excludes unusual items and discontinued operations, rose 13.6%, from $54.5 million, or $0.68 per share, to $61.9 million, or $0.77 per share. Net income applicable to participating shares declined, from $30.8 million, or $0.38 per share, to a loss of $51.9 million, or $0.65 per share. This decrease stems mainly from a $57.2 million impairment charge of the carrying value of our U.S. deferred tax asset related to a decrease of activities in this country.

"I am especially pleased with how we have ended fiscal 2012, said François Olivier, President and Chief Executive Officer. As expected, despite the volatile advertising market, revenues and profitability in the fourth quarter grew due to the contribution from the integration of Quad/Graphics Canada, Inc. and the good performance of the Media Sector.

In 2012, thanks to the strategic acquisition of Quad/Graphics Canada, Inc., we confirmed our position as Canada's largest printer. In the midst of this transaction, we integrated a certain number of the acquired plants into our state-of-the-art printing network in order to maximize the utilization of our most efficient equipment. Furthermore, we sold operations which we considered less strategic for the Corporation over the longer term. We renewed several multi-year printing and distribution agreements and we launched and acquired titles to expand the scope of our newspaper network. In addition, because of our excellent financial position and our ability to generate significant cash flows, we maintained the necessary flexibility to continue to develop TC Transcontinental. We continued to enhance our new services by entering the television production space, by investing in our flagship brands, by expanding the scope of our digital advertising representation and by continuing to rollout mobile apps for our clients and our own brands. I am certain that our achievements in the past year put us in an excellent position to pursue our transformation."

Highlights of Fiscal 2012


Note 1: Please refer to the table " Reconciliation of Non-IFRS financial measures" in this press release.

In 2012, TC Transcontinental's revenues increased 6.2%, from $1,989.3 million to $2,112.1 million. This increase stems mainly from the acquisitions of Quad/Graphics Canada, Inc. and Redux Media. It was, however, mitigated by the incentives granted at the renewal of certain printing contracts and by non-recurring revenue from the printing contract for the Canadian Census in 2011. Adjusted operating income remained relatively stable, from $246.6 million to $245.2 million. The slight decrease of 0.6% derives primarily from the Media Sector, due to the end of the school reform in Quebec, which impacted educational book publishing revenues, as well as a soft national advertising market. The decrease was mitigated by new printing contracts, the synergies from the integration of Quad/Graphics Canada, Inc., and the optimization of the operational structure of our digital operations.

Net income applicable to participating shares declined, from $120.7 million, or $1.49 per share, to a loss of $183.3 million, or $2.27 per share. The decrease stems mainly from a $232.0 million asset impairment related to the Media Sector, which was non-cash. The decrease also stems from a $58.0 million provision for notices of re-assessment from tax authorities, which the Corporation is currently contesting, a $57.2 million impairment charge of the carrying value of our U.S. deferred tax asset, and $55.0 million in restructuring and other costs mostly related to the integration of Quad/Graphics Canada, Inc. These items were, however, partially offset by a gain on acquisition of $32.1 million. Excluding unusual items and discontinued operations, adjusted net income applicable to participating shares decreased 3.8%, from $155.3 million, or $1.92 per share, to $149.4 million, or $1.85 per share.

For more detailed financial information, please see Management's Discussion and Analysis for the fiscal year ended October 31st, 2012 as well as the financial statements in the "Investors" section of our website at www.tc.tc
 

Subsequent event: Transcontinental Inc. and Hearst Corporation have reached an agreement in principle for new terms and conditions to print the San Francisco Chronicle

Transcontinental Inc. and Hearst Corporation today reached an agreement in principle to amend the terms and conditions of the 15-year contract started July 2009 to print the San Francisco Chronicle. Under the new agreement, which will be effective January 1st, 2013, TC Transcontinental will receive a one-time cash payment of US$200 million from Hearst Corporation to compensate for price reductions on future services. TC Transcontinental will continue to print the Chronicle over the term of the agreement, receive payment for services and maintain ownership of the printing plant and equipment.

Given the new market reality in the San Francisco Area, the Chronicle will only require the use of up to two-thirds of the printing equipment under the original contract. As a result, the Chronicle will benefit from price reductions of approximately US$30 million per year from TC Transcontinental, over the remaining term of the agreement, to account for the upfront payment and the reduction in the use of the printing equipment.

The impact on the profitability of TC Transcontinental's Fremont, California plant will not be significant as the US$200 million upfront payment will be deferred and transferred to revenues over the remaining life of the contract and the Corporation will be able to reduce its cost base to compensate for the reduction in the use of the required printing equipment. Furthermore, TC Transcontinental will focus on using the available capacity for other potential customers.

"We are pleased to continue to foster our growing relationship with Hearst Corporation, not only in printing, but also in magazine publishing, with our Elle brand partnership in Canada, and in digital solutions with our advertising representation partnership," said François Olivier, president and CEO of Transcontinental Inc.
 

Other Highlights of Fiscal 2012

Strengthening core operations

For the Printing Sector, the acquisition of Quad/Graphics Canada, Inc., which was completed on March 1, 2012, should generate close to $200 million in annual revenues and a net increase in adjusted operating income before amortization of more than $40 million by the end of 2014, of which $11.4 million was realized in 2012. In the midst of this transaction, the Corporation began reorganizing its printing operations in Canada by ensuring the use of its most productive equipment. Moreover, black and white book printing operations were sold in 2012. A number of multi-year agreements with retail customers and with Rogers, valued at more than $1.75 billion, were renewed and expanded.

In fiscal 2012, the Media Sector expanded its content offering by acquiring or launching several community newspapers and purchasing, from its partners, all outstanding shares of the Métro Montréal newspaper. The introduction of the brand Fresh Juice, which offers food-related content on a number of different platforms, and the addition of Éditions Caractère to the portfolio of educational books for the general public, enhanced the catalogue of titles published by the Corporation. However, in the process of reviewing its brand portfolio and to channel its efforts toward the development of its leading multiplatform brands, the Corporation decided to stop publishing the More and Vita brands.

Development of new services

In 2012, TC Transcontinental added television production to its service offering. Several mobile apps were also developed for its own properties and those of its partners, namely On the Table and P$ Mobile Service for Stationnement de Montréal. The job search site JobGo.ca was also launched. In addition, the Corporation expanded its digital offering by signing numerous advertising representation agreements and partnerships and by acquiring Redux Media, a leading online advertising network. Through its innovation program, the Corporation introduced Panoramax, the largest promotional insert in Canada printed on high-volume presses.

Financial highlights

The adjusted net indebtedness ratio improved from 1.48x as at October 31, 2011 to 1.32x as at October 31, 2012. Under its share purchase program, as at October 31, 2012, the Corporation bought back 2,011,600 of its Class A Subordinate Voting Shares at a weighted average price of $8.86, for a total consideration of $17.8 million. Transcontinental Inc. also put in place a new five-year unsecured term-credit facility of $400 million which matures in February 2017. An amount of $194.9 million was drawn on this facility as at October 31, 2012.

Changes in the Board of Directors

On February 16, 2012, Rémi Marcoux stepped down as Chair of the Board of Transcontinental Inc., and was replaced by Isabelle Marcoux. Mr. Marcoux remains on the Board as a director. In September 2012, Alain Tascan, President and CEO of Sava Transmedia, which publishes and develops social games on mobile and online platforms, joined the Board. Ms. Marcoux was also recognized in early December 2012 for her strategic vision and leadership when she received the prestigious Canada's Most Powerful Women: Top 100TM Award.

Outlook

In fiscal 2013, the acceleration of synergies from the integration of the operations of Quad/Graphics Canada, Inc., optimization of the Media Sector structure and continuation of the marketing activation strategy which has enabled the Corporation to renew and expand contracts with key accounts in 2012, should enable it to improve its profitability in a fast-changing industry. These elements should offset the loss of Zellers, a major client who announced in 2012 that it will be closing all its stores by March 2013. The Corporation is also starting fiscal 2013 in an excellent financial position with a net indebtedness ratio of 1.32x. Also, given its planned investment of about $70 million in property, plant and equipment, it should also be generating considerable net cash flows, which will allow it to further reduce its indebtedness, invest in the development of new marketing services and strategic acquisitions, and return funds to its shareholders.

Reconciliation of Non-IFRS Financial Measures

Financial data have been prepared in conformity with IFRS. However, certain measures used in this press release do not have any standardized meaning under IFRS and could be calculated differently by other companies. We believe that many readers analyze our results based on certain non-IFRS financial measures because such measures are more appropriate for evaluating the Corporation's operating performance. Internally, Management uses such non-IFRS financial information as an indicator of business performance, and evaluates management's effectiveness with specific reference to these indicators. These measures should be considered in addition to, not as a substitute for or superior to, measures of financial performance prepared in accordance with IFRS.

The following table reconciles IFRS financial measures to non-IFRS financial measures.


Dividends

At its December 6, 2012 meeting, the Corporation's Board of Directors declared a quarterly dividend of $0.145 per Class A Subordinate Voting Shares and Class B Shares. This dividend is payable on January 18, 2013 to participating shareholders of record at the close of business on December 31, 2012. On an annual basis, this represents a dividend of $0.58 per share. Furthermore, at the same meeting, the Board also declared a quarterly dividend of $0.4253 per share on cumulative 5-year rate reset first preferred shares, series D. This dividend is payable on January 15, 2013. On an annual basis, this represents a dividend of $1.6875 per preferred share.

Additional Information

Upon releasing its fiscal 2012 results, Transcontinental Inc. will hold a conference call for the financial community today at 4:15 p.m. The dial-in numbers are (514) 807-9895 or (647) 427-7450 or 1-888-231-8191 and the access code is: 86820766. Media may hear the call in listen-only mode or tune in to the simultaneous audio broadcast on the Corporation's Web site, which will then be archived for 30 days. For media requests for information or interviews, please contact Nathalie St-Jean, Senior Advisor, Corporate External Communications of TC Transcontinental, at (514) 954-3581.

Profile

Largest printer and leading provider of media and marketing activation solutions in Canada, TC Transcontinental creates products and services that allow businesses to attract, reach and retain their target customers.  The Corporation specializes in print and digital media, the production of magazines, newspapers, books and custom content, mass and personalized marketing, interactive and mobile applications, TV production and door-to-door distribution.

Transcontinental Inc. (TSX: TCL.A, TCL.B, TCL.PR.D), known by the brands TC Transcontinental, TC Media and TC Transcontinental Printing, has approximately 9,500 employees in Canada and the United States, and reported revenues of C$2.1 billion in 2012. Website www.tc.tc.

Forward-looking Statements

This press release contains certain forward-looking statements concerning the future performance of the Corporation. Such statements, based on the current expectations of management, inherently involve numerous risks and uncertainties, known and unknown. We caution that all forward-looking information is inherently uncertain and actual results may differ materially from the assumptions, estimates or expectations reflected or contained in the forward-looking information, and that actual future performance will be affected by a number of factors, many of which are beyond the Corporation's control, including, but not limited to, the economic situation, structural changes in its industries, exchange rate, availability of capital, energy costs, increased competition, as well as the Corporation's capacity to engage in strategic transactions and integrate acquisitions into its activities. The risks, uncertainties and other factors that could influence actual results are described in the Management's Discussion and Analysis (MD&A) for the fiscal year ended on October 31st, 2012.

The forward-looking information in this release is based on current expectations and information available as at December 6, 2012. The Corporation's management disclaims any intention or obligation to update or revise any forward-looking statements unless otherwise required by the Securities Authorities.

- 30 -

For information:

Media
Nathalie St-Jean
Senior Advisor, Corporate
External Communications
TC Transcontinental
Telephone : 514 954-3581
nathalie.st-jean@tc.tc

Financial Community
Jennifer F. McCaughey
Senior Director, Investor Relations and
Financial Communications
TC Transcontinental
Telephone : 514 954‑2821
jennifer.mccaughey@tc.tc

Transcontinental inc. : Une hausse de 12 % de ses revenus et de 21 % de son résultat opérationnel ajusté au 4e trimestre

Faits saillants du quatrième trimestre


Note 1 : Veuillez consulter le tableau « Rapprochement des données financières non conformes aux IFRS » dans le présent communiqué de presse.

  • Augmentation de 12,2 % des revenus et de 20,5 % du résultat opérationnel ajusté.
  • Hausse de 12,5 % du résultat opérationnel avant amortissement ajusté.
  • Diminution du résultat net attribuable aux actions participantes due à des éléments inhabituels totalisant 113,5 millions de dollars.
  • Conclusion d'une entente de principe avec Hearst Corporation portant sur de nouvelles modalités pour l'impression du San Francisco Chronicle.
  • Poursuite de l'intégration de Quad/Graphics Canada, inc., dont l'acquisition a été complétée le 1er mars 2012.
  • Début de la production télévisuelle de TC Media.
  • Maintien d'une solide position financière avec un ratio d'endettement net de 1,32x.

Montréal, le 6 décembre 2012 – Transcontinental inc. (TSX : TCL.A TCL.B TCL.PR.D) a terminé l'année 2012 sur une très bonne note avec une hausse de 12,2 % de ses revenus qui sont passés de 521,6 millions de dollars à 585,1 millions au quatrième trimestre. Cette augmentation est principalement attribuable à l'acquisition de Quad/Graphics Canada, inc. et à des acquisitions dans le secteur des médias, notamment Redux Media. En excluant les acquisitions et les fermetures, ainsi que l'effet des variations du taux de change et du papier, la croissance interne des revenus s'est établie à 0,8 million de dollars, ou 0,2 %.

Au quatrième trimestre, le résultat opérationnel ajusté a augmenté de 20,5 %. Il est passé de 80,0 millions de dollars à 96,4 millions. Cette hausse est surtout due aux synergies issues de l'intégration de Quad/Graphics Canada, inc., à l'optimisation de la structure opérationnelle des activités numériques et à une augmentation du volume dans les activités d'édition de livres pédagogiques. Le résultat net attribuable aux actions participantes ajusté, qui exclut les éléments inhabituels et les activités abandonnées, a augmenté de 13,6 %, passant de 54,5 millions de dollars, ou 0,68 $ par action, à 61,9 millions, ou 0,77 $ par action. Le résultat net attribuable aux actions participantes a décru, passant d'un gain de 30,8 millions de dollars, ou 0,38 $ par action, à une perte de 51,9 millions, ou 0,65 $ par action. Cette baisse résulte principalement d'une réduction de valeur des actifs d'impôts sur le résultat différés aux États-Unis pour un montant de 57,2 millions de dollars, relativement à une diminution des activités dans ce pays.

« Je suis particulièrement satisfait de la façon dont nous avons terminé l'année 2012, a déclaré François Olivier, président et chef de la direction. Comme nous l'avions anticipé, en dépit de la volatilité dans le marché publicitaire, les revenus et la profitabilité au quatrième trimestre ont été bonifiés grâce à la contribution de l'intégration de Quad/Graphics Canada, inc. et à une bonne performance du secteur des médias.

« En 2012, grâce à l'acquisition stratégique de Quad/Graphics Canada, inc., nous avons confirmé notre position de plus grand imprimeur au Canada. Dans la foulée de cette transaction, nous avons intégré un certain nombre d'usines acquises à notre réseau d'imprimeries à la fine pointe de la technologie afin de maximiser l'utilisation de nos équipements les plus performants. Par ailleurs, nous avons vendu des activités d'exploitation que nous considérions moins stratégiques à plus long terme pour la Société. Nous avons renouvelé plusieurs ententes pluriannuelles d'impression et de distribution et nous avons lancé et acquis plusieurs titres afin d'élargir l'étendue de notre réseau de journaux. De plus, grâce à notre excellente situation financière et à notre capacité de générer d'important flux de trésorerie, nous avons préservé la flexibilité nécessaire quant à la poursuite du développement de TC Transcontinental. En effet, nous avons continué à accroître notre offre de nouveaux services en nous engageant dans la production télévisuelle, en investissant dans nos marques phares, en étendant la portée de notre réseau de représentation publicitaire numérique et en continuant à déployer des applications mobiles pour nos clients et pour nos propres marques. Ce faisant, je suis persuadé que nos accomplissements au cours de la dernière année nous placent en excellente position pour poursuivre notre transformation. »

Faits saillants pour l'exercice 2012



Note 1 : Veuillez consulter le tableau « Rapprochement des données financières non conformes aux IFRS » dans le présent communiqué de presse.

En 2012, les revenus de TC Transcontinental ont progressé de 6,2 %, passant de 1 989,3 millions de dollars à
2 112,1 millions. Cette hausse provient essentiellement des acquisitions de Quad/Graphics Canada, inc. et de Redux Media. Elle a toutefois été atténuée par les incitatifs accordés lors du renouvellement de certains contrats d'impression et par la non-récurrence du contrat d'impression pour le recensement du Canada en 2011. Le résultat opérationnel ajusté est demeuré sensiblement stable, passant de 246,6 millions à 245,2 millions de dollars. Cette légère baisse de 0,6 % est surtout attribuable au secteur des médias qui a subi une diminution de ses revenus provenant de l'édition de livres pédagogiques causée par la fin de la réforme scolaire au Québec et qui a été affecté par la faiblesse du marché publicitaire national. L'obtention de nouveaux contrats d'impression, les synergies issues de l'intégration de Quad/Graphics Canada, inc. et l'optimisation de la structure opérationnelle de nos activités numériques ont atténué cette baisse.

Le résultat net attribuable aux actions participantes a décru, passant d'un gain de 120,7 millions de dollars, ou 1,49 $ par action, à une perte de 183,3 millions, ou 2,27 $ par action. Cette baisse résulte principalement d'une dépréciation d'actifs de 232,0 millions de dollars reliée au secteur des médias, qui n'a aucun effet sur la trésorerie. Une provision de 58,0 millions de dollars relativement à des avis de nouvelle cotisation reçus des autorités fiscales, que la Société conteste actuellement, une réduction de valeur des actifs d'impôts sur le résultat différés aux États-Unis pour un montant de 57,2 millions de dollars et des frais de restructuration et autres coûts pour un montant de 55,0 millions de dollars principalement liés à l'intégration de Quad/Graphics Canada, inc. ont également eu une incidence sur cette baisse. Ces éléments ont toutefois été partiellement contrebalancés par un gain sur acquisition d'entreprise de 32,1 millions de dollars. En excluant les éléments inhabituels et les activités abandonnées, le résultat net attribuable aux actions participantes ajusté a diminué de 3,8 %, passant de 155,3 millions de dollars, ou 1,92 $ par action, à 149,4 millions, ou 1,85 $ par action.

Pour une information financière plus détaillée, veuillez consulter le Rapport de gestion pour l'exercice clos le 31 octobre 2012 et les états financiers complets disponibles sur le site www.tc.tc, à la section « Investisseurs ».


Événement subséquent : Transcontinental inc. et Hearst Corporation ont conclu une entente de principe portant sur de nouvelles modalités pour l'impression du San Francisco Chronicle

Transcontinental inc. et Hearst Corporation ont conclu aujourd'hui une entente de principe qui modifie les modalités du contrat de 15 ans – en vigueur depuis juillet 2009 – relatives à l'impression du San Francisco Chronicle. Selon la nouvelle entente, qui entrera en vigueur le 1er janvier 2013, TC Transcontinental recevra de Hearst Corporation, à titre de compensation pour des réductions de prix sur services futurs, un paiement forfaitaire de 200 millions de dollars américains. TC Transcontinental continuera d'imprimer le Chronicle et sera payée pour ses services jusqu'à échéance de l'entente. Par ailleurs, TC Transcontinental conservera la propriété de l'imprimerie et de l'équipement.

Étant donné la nouvelle réalité du marché dans la région de San Francisco, le Chronicle utilisera jusqu'à deux tiers de l'équipement prévu dans le contrat d'origine. Par conséquent, TC Transcontinental accordera au Chronicle des réductions de prix d'environ 30 millions de dollars (US) par année, sur le reste du terme de l'entente, pour tenir compte du paiement forfaitaire et de l'utilisation réduite de l'équipement d'impression.

L'impact sur la profitabilité de l'imprimerie de TC Transcontinental située à Fremont en Californie ne sera pas significatif, puisque le paiement forfaitaire de 200 millions de dollars (US) sera différé et transféré aux revenus sur la durée de vie restante du contrat, et la Société pourra réduire sa base de coûts afin d'atténuer la diminution de l'utilisation de son équipement d'impression. En outre, TC Transcontinental cherchera à combler la capacité disponible pour d'autres clients potentiels.

« Nous sommes heureux de continuer à développer notre relation grandissante avec Hearst Corporation, non seulement dans le domaine de l'impression, mais aussi dans celui de l'édition de magazines, notamment grâce à notre partenariat au Canada, avec la marque Elle, et grâce à notre partenariat de représentation publicitaire sur les plateformes numériques », a déclaré François Olivier, président et chef de la direction de Transcontinental inc.


Autres faits saillants pour l'exercice 2012

Renforcement des activités traditionnelles

Du côté du secteur de l'impression, l'acquisition de Quad/Graphics Canada, inc., complétée le 1er mars 2012, devrait générer près de 200 millions de dollars de revenus annuels et produire une augmentation nette du résultat opérationnel avant amortissement ajusté de plus de 40 millions de dollars à la fin de 2014, dont 11,4 millions de dollars ont été réalisés en 2012. Dans la foulée de cette transaction, la Société procède à une réorganisation de ses activités d'impression au Canada en privilégiant les équipements les plus performants. Les activités d'impression de livres en noir et blanc ont, par ailleurs, été vendues en 2012. Plusieurs ententes pluriannuelles, d'une valeur de plus de 1,75 milliard de dollars, avec des clients du secteur de la vente au détail et avec Rogers, ont été renouvelées et élargies.

Au cours de l'exercice, le secteur des médias a bonifié son offre de contenus en acquérant et en lançant plusieurs journaux locaux et régionaux et en acquérant de ses partenaires la totalité des actions du quotidien Métro Montréal. Le lancement de la marque Fresh Juice, offrant des contenus liés à l'alimentation sur plusieurs plateformes, et l'ajout des Éditions Caractère au portefeuille des livres éducationnels pour le grand public, sont venus rehausser le catalogue de titres publiés par la Société. Toutefois, dans un processus de révision de son portefeuille de marques, afin de canaliser ses efforts vers le développement de ses principales marques consommateurs multiplateformes, la Société a pris la décision de cesser la commercialisation des marques More et Vita.

Développement de nouveaux services

En 2012, TC Transcontinental a ajouté la production télévisuelle à son offre de service. De plus, quelques applications mobiles ont été développées pour ses propres actifs et ceux de ses partenaires, notamment Quoi Manger et P$ Service mobile pour Stationnement de Montréal. Le site JobGo.ca a également été lancé. La Société a aussi accru son offre numérique en signant de nombreux accords ou partenariats de représentation publicitaire et en acquérant Redux Media, un important réseau de publicité numérique. Dans la foulée de son programme d'innovation, la Société a lancé Panoramax, le plus grand encart promotionnel au Canada imprimé sur des presses à grand volume.

Faits saillants financiers

Le ratio d'endettement net ajusté s'est amélioré, passant de 1,48x au 31 octobre 2011 à 1,32x au 31 octobre 2012. La Société, au 31 octobre 2012, a racheté 2 011 600 de ses actions à droit de vote subalterne catégorie A à un prix moyen pondéré de 8,86 $, pour une contrepartie totale de 17,8 millions de dollars, conformément à son programme de rachat d'actions. De plus, Transcontinental inc. a mis en place, pour une durée de cinq ans, une nouvelle facilité de crédit de 400 millions de dollars, non garantie, qui viendra à terme en février 2017. Un montant de 194,9 millions de dollars était utilisé au 31 octobre 2012.

Changements au sein du conseil d'administration

Le 16 février 2012, Rémi Marcoux a cédé la présidence du conseil de Transcontinental inc. à Isabelle Marcoux.
M. Marcoux demeure toutefois administrateur au sein du conseil auquel s'est joint, en septembre 2012, Alain Tascan, président-directeur général de Sava Transmedia, un éditeur et développeur de jeux sociaux sur les plateformes mobiles et en ligne. Mme Marcoux a par ailleurs été reconnue au début du mois de décembre 2012 pour sa vision stratégique et son leadership en devenant récipiendaire du prestigieux prix Le Top 100 : Les Canadiennes les plus influentes.

Perspectives

Au cours de l'exercice 2013, l'accélération des synergies issues de l'intégration des activités de Quad/Graphics Canada, inc., l'optimisation de la structure du secteur des médias et la poursuite de la stratégie d'activation marketing qui ont, entre autres, permis à la Société de renouveler et d'élargir des contrats avec des clients importants en 2012, devraient permettre à celle-ci d'améliorer sa profitabilité au sein d'une industrie en transformation. Ces éléments devraient donc contrebalancer la perte de Zellers, un client important qui a annoncé en 2012 la fermeture de la totalité de ses magasins d'ici le mois de mars 2013. De plus, la Société commence l'exercice 2013 en excellente situation financière avec un ratio d'endettement net de 1,32x; elle devrait aussi générer d'importants flux monétaires nets, compte tenu d'un programme de dépenses en immobilisations corporelles et incorporelles d'environ 70 millions de dollars. Conséquemment, la Société entend réduire davantage son niveau d'endettement, investir dans le développement de nouveaux services marketing, effectuer des acquisitions stratégiques, et retourner des fonds à ses actionnaires.

Rapprochement des données financières non conformes aux IFRS

Les données financières ont été préparées en conformité avec les IFRS. Cependant, certaines données utilisées dans le présent communiqué de presse ne sont pas définies par les IFRS et pourraient être calculées différemment par d'autres entreprises. Nous croyons qu'un grand nombre de lecteurs analysent nos résultats en fonction de certaines de ces données financières non conformes aux IFRS puisque ces informations permettent de mesurer d'une manière plus appropriée la performance des activités de la Société. À l'interne, la direction utilise également ces données financières non conformes aux IFRS pour évaluer la performance de ses activités et l'efficacité de ses gestionnaires. Ces mesures doivent être considérées comme un complément aux mesures de performance financière conformes aux IFRS. Elles ne s'y substituent pas et n'y sont pas supérieures.

Le tableau suivant permet le rapprochement des données financières IFRS et celles non conformes aux IFRS.

 

Dividendes

Lors de sa réunion du 6 décembre 2012, le conseil d'administration de la Société a déclaré un dividende trimestriel de 0,145 $ par action sur les actions à droit de vote subalterne catégorie A et sur les actions catégorie B. Ce dividende sera versé le 18 janvier 2013 aux détenteurs d'actions inscrits au registre de la Société à la fermeture des bureaux le 31 décembre 2012. Sur une base annuelle, cela représente un dividende de 0,58 $ par action. Lors de la même réunion, le conseil d'administration a aussi déclaré un dividende trimestriel de 0,4253 $ par action sur les actions privilégiées de premier rang à taux rajusté tous les cinq ans et à dividende cumulatif, série D. Ce dividende sera versé le 15 janvier 2013. Sur une base annuelle, cela représente un dividende de 1,6875 $ par action privilégiée.

Information additionnelle

À l'occasion de la diffusion de ses résultats de l'année financière 2012, Transcontinental inc. tiendra une conférence téléphonique pour la communauté financière aujourd'hui à 16 h 15. Les numéros de téléphone sont 514 807-9895 ou     647 427-7450 ou 1 888 231-8191 et le code d'accès est le 86820766. Les journalistes pourront suivre la conférence en mode « écoute seulement » ou écouter la diffusion audio simultanée sur le site Internet de TC Transcontinental, qui sera ensuite archivée pendant 30 jours. Pour toute demande d'information ou d'entrevue, les médias sont priés de communiquer avec Nathalie St-Jean, conseillère principale aux communications externes de TC Transcontinental, au 514 954-3581.

Profil

Premier imprimeur et chef de file de solutions médias et d'activation marketing au Canada, TC Transcontinental crée des produits et services permettant aux entreprises d'attirer, de joindre et de fidéliser leur public cible. La Société se spécialise dans les médias imprimés et numériques, la production de magazines, de journaux, de livres et de contenus sur mesure, le marketing de masse et personnalisé, les applications mobiles et interactives, la production télévisuelle et la distribution de porte en porte.

Transcontinental inc. (TSX : TCL.A, TCL.B, TCL.PR.D), connue sous les marques TC Transcontinental, TC Media et TC Imprimeries Transcontinental, compte approximativement 9500 employés au Canada et aux États-Unis, et ses revenus publiés ont été de 2,1 milliards de dollars canadiens en 2012. Site www.tc.tc


Information prospective

Ce communiqué contient de l'information prospective sur la performance future de la Société. Les déclarations, formulées d'après les attentes actuelles de la direction, comportent un certain nombre de risques et d'incertitudes intrinsèques, connus ou non. Nous avertissons que l'information de nature prospective est incertaine en soi et que les résultats futurs pourraient différer concrètement des hypothèses, des estimations ou des attentes reflétées ou contenues dans l'information de nature prospective, et que la performance future sera modifiée par un certain nombre de facteurs dont plusieurs sont hors du contrôle de la Société. Ces facteurs incluent entre autres la conjoncture économique, les changements structurels dans ses industries, le taux de change, la disponibilité des capitaux, les coûts de l'énergie, l'augmentation de la concurrence, ainsi que la capacité de la Société à procéder à des transactions stratégiques et à intégrer des acquisitions à ses activités. Les risques, les incertitudes et autres facteurs qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur les résultats réels sont décrits dans le Rapport de gestion pour l'exercice clos le 31 octobre 2012.

L'information de nature prospective présentée dans ce communiqué est basée sur les attentes actuelles et sur les données disponibles au 6 décembre 2012. La direction de la Société décline toute intention ou obligation de mettre à jour ou de réviser cette information de nature prospective, à moins que les autorités ne l'exigent.

- 30 -

Pour renseignements :

Médias
Nathalie St-Jean
Conseillère principale 
aux communications externes
TC Transcontinental
Téléphone : 514 954-3581
nathalie.st-jean@tc.tc

Communauté financière
Jennifer F. McCaughey
Directrice principale aux relations avec les
investisseurs et communications financières
TC Transcontinental
Téléphone : 514 954‑2821
jennifer.mccaughey@tc.tc