Isabelle Marcoux
Chair of the Board

 

Isabelle Marcoux is Chair of the Board of Transcontinental Inc. since February 2012. She was Vice Chair of the Board of Transcontinental Inc. from 2007 and Vice President, Corporate Development from 2004. In this latter role, she was responsible for the strategic planning process and mergers and acquisitions. Between 1997 and 2004, Ms. Marcoux held various positions within the Corporation. Before joining Transcontinental, she was a lawyer at McCarthy Tétrault LLP.

 

Isabelle Marcoux is a member of the boards of George Weston Limited, Rogers Communications Inc. and Power Corporation of Canada. She is also member of the board of The Montreal Children's Hospital Foundation.

 

Ms. Marcoux is actively involved with Centraide of Greater Montreal. She is a member of the Major Donors Cabinet, was co-chair of the Centraide of Greater Montreal 2016 campaign, an important fund drive, and also co-chaired the 2015 Leaders' Circle campaign. Ms. Marcoux has also co-chaired a number of fundraising events and has been actively involved in a number of major fundraising campaigns for organizations such as the Montreal Heart Institute, the Montreal Children's Hospital, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, the Tel-Jeunes Foundation, the Young Musicians of the World Foundation and the Foundation Montreal inc.  

 

In 2017, Isabelle Marcoux became the first Canadian to win the Visionary Award for Strategic Leadership from the global organization WomenCorporateDirectors Foundation (WCD), most notably in recognition of her proven leadership in making strategic decisions to ensure the organization's long-term growth. In 2016, she was awarded the prestigious Medal of the National Assembly of Quebec, recognizing the impact of her continuous community involvement. Ms. Marcoux has also been recognized three times as one of Canada's 100 most powerful women by the Women's Executive NetworkTM (WXN), namely in the "Corporate Directors" category in 2016 and in the "Corporate Executives" category in 2010 and 2012. In 2015, the Fédération des chambres de commerce du Québec awarded her the Mercure Leadership Germaine-Gibara Award in the Large Business category, acknowledging the exceptional contribution of a businesswoman who has demonstrated audacity and influence throughout her career and within her industry. In 2014, Ms. Marcoux was named to the prestigous list of Canada's Top 50 Business Leaders by Power & Influence magazine. In 2010, Ms. Marcoux was named Personality of the week by La Presse and Radio-Canada in recognition of an outstanding career that has earned her positions on the boards of major Canadian companies. In 2007, she was a recipient of Canada's Top 40 under 40TM award, a national program which honours 40 Canadians under 40 who have distinguished themselves in their roles.

 

Ms. Marcoux holds a Bachelor's degree in Political Science and Economics, and a Bachelor's degree in Civil Law, both from McGill University. She has been a member of the Quebec Bar since 1995. She is married to François Olivier and they are the parents of two children, Jeanne and Philippe.

Isabelle Marcoux
Présidente du conseil

 

Isabelle Marcoux est présidente du conseil de Transcontinental inc. depuis février 2012. Elle était vice-présidente du conseil de Transcontinental inc. depuis 2007 et vice-présidente au développement de la Société depuis 2004. À ce dernier titre, elle était responsable de l'ensemble du processus de planification stratégique, ainsi que des activités de fusions et d'acquisitions. Entre 1997 et 2004, Mme Marcoux a occupé divers postes au sein de la Société. Avant de se joindre à Transcontinental, elle était avocate au sein du cabinet McCarthy Tétrault S.E.N.C.R.L.

 

Isabelle Marcoux siège aux conseils d'administration de George Weston Limited, de Rogers Communications inc. et de Power Corporation du Canada. Elle est également membre du conseil de la Fondation de l'Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants.

 

Mme Marcoux est coprésidente de la campagne Centraide du Grand Montréal 2016, l'une des principales collectes de fonds à Montréal. Elle avait d'ailleurs coprésidé la campagne 2015 du Cercle des Leaders de Centraide du Grand Montréal. En 2015, elle a également joint le cabinet de deux campagnes majeures de financement, soit celui de la Fondation OLO et celui de la Fondation des Jeunes Musiciens du Monde. Madame Marcoux a coprésidé plusieurs événements-bénéfice et a participé activement à de nombreuses campagnes de financement, notamment au profit de l'Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal, l'Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants, le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, la Fondation Tel-Jeunes et la Fondation Montréal inc.

 

En 2016, Isabelle Marcoux s'est vu décerner la prestigieuse Médaille de l'Assemblée nationale du Québec soulignant le rôle fondamental qu'elle joue au quotidien au sein de la communauté. Mme Marcoux s'est également distinguée à trois reprises comme l'une des 100 Canadiennes les plus influentes selon le Réseau des femmes exécutivesMC (WXN), soit dans la catégorie « Administratrices » en 2016 et dans la catégorie « Dirigeantes d'entreprises » en 2010 et 2012. En 2015, la Fédération des chambres de commerce du Québec lui remettait le « Mercure Leadership Germaine-Gibara – catégorie Grande entreprise », reconnaissant le parcours exceptionnel d'une femme d'affaires ayant fait preuve d'audace et d'influence tout au long de son cheminement professionnel et au sein de son secteur d'activité. En 2014, Mme Marcoux est retenue parmi la prestigieuse liste des 50 plus importants dirigeants d'entreprises canadiens du magazine Power & Influence. En 2010, La Presse et Radio-Canada la nomment Personnalité de la semaine pour souligner son exceptionnelle carrière qui l'a menée aux grands conseils d'administration canadiens. En 2007, son nom figurait au palmarès des Top 40 Under 40TM du Canada, un programme de distinctions qui honore 40 Canadiens de moins de 40 ans qui se sont illustrés dans leurs fonctions. 

 

Mme Marcoux détient un baccalauréat en sciences politiques et économie, ainsi qu'un baccalauréat en droit civil, de l'Université McGill. Elle est membre du Barreau du Québec depuis 1995. Elle est mariée à François Olivier et ils sont les parents de deux enfants, Jeanne et Philippe.