Rémi Marcoux, C.M., O.Q., F.C.A.
Founder and Board Member

 

Rémi Marcoux founded Transcontinental in 1976 and was Chief Executive Officer until 2004, when he became Executive Chairman of the Board; he remained in that position until February 16, 2012, when he decided to slow the pace of his work somewhat. He is still a member of the Board. "My dream," says Mr. Marcoux, "was to found a company that would reflect my values, including respect for employees and partners, customer services that exceeds expectations, integrity, innovation and passion for doing the job right."

Since the 1976 acquisition of a small printshop with about 30 employees, TC Transcontinental's history has been marked by success. The largest printer in Canada and the fourth largest in North America, TC Transcontinental is also the leading Canadian publisher of consumer magazines and French-language pedagogical material, not to mention the country's second leading publisher of local and regional newspapers. Combining expertise, innovation and creativity, traditional media, and new communication platforms, TC Transcontinental creates marketing products which enable companies to attract, acquire and retain their clients. TC Transcontinental was inducted into the Québec Business Hall of Fame in 2009 and today, TC Transcontinental has a workforce of about 10,000 employees.

As a man who believes in giving back to society, Mr. Marcoux was co-head of the Centraide campaign in Greater Montreal in 2006. He is an Associate Governor of the Board of Governors of the University of Montreal, and the École des Hautes Études Commerciales de Montréal (HEC Montréal) designated his arts management foundation the Carmelle and Rémi Marcoux Chair in Arts Management. Mr. Marcoux sits on the Human Resource Committee of the Montreal Heart Institute Foundation and on the board of the Lucie and André Chagnon Foundation.

Rémi Marcoux has received numerous awards and distinctions for his achievements, including appointments to the Order of Québec and the Academy of Great Montrealers in 2008. Mr. Marcoux was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada in 2007. He received the Harry V. Quadracci VISION Award in 2007 and was inducted into the North American Printing Industry Hall of Fame in 2006. He was named the fourth business leader most respected by his peers in Canada in 2005 and received an honorary doctorate from HEC Montreal in 2003.

Rémi Marcoux, C.M., O.Q., F.C.A.
Fondateur et administrateur du conseil

 

Rémi Marcoux a fondé Transcontinental en 1976 et en a assuré la direction jusqu'en 2004, auquel moment il est devenu président exécutif du conseil jusqu'au 16 février 2012, date où il a choisi de ralentir quelque peu ses activités professionnelles. Il demeure toutefois membre du conseil d'administration. « Mon rêve, confie Rémi Marcoux, était de fonder une entreprise calquée sur mes valeurs, tels le respect des employés et des partenaires, un service aux clients dépassant les attentes, l'intégrité, l'innovation et la passion du travail bien fait. »

Depuis l'acquisition, en 1976, d'un petit atelier comptant une trentaine d'employés, l'histoire de TC Transcontinental s'est bâtie au rythme du succès jusqu'à ce jour. Premier imprimeur au Canada et quatrième en Amérique du Nord, TC Transcontinental est en outre le plus important éditeur de magazines destinés aux consommateurs et d'ouvrages pédagogiques en français au Canada et le deuxième éditeur de journaux locaux et régionaux au pays. Alliant expertise, innovation et créativité, médias traditionnels et nouvelles plateformes de communication, TC Transcontinental crée des produits et services marketing permettant aux entreprises d'attirer, de joindre et de fidéliser leur clientèle. Admise au Panthéon des entreprises québécoises en 2009, TC Transcontinental emploie aujourd'hui quelque 10 000 salariés.

Homme d'engagement social, M. Marcoux a coprésidé la campagne Centraide du Grand Montréal de 2006. Il est membre du Conseil des gouverneurs associés de l'Université de Montréal et l'École des Hautes Études Commerciales (HEC Montréal) a désigné sa fondation de gestion des arts Chaire de gestion des arts Carmelle et Rémi-Marcoux. M. Marcoux siège au comité des Ressources humaines de la Fondation de l'Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal et est membre du comité exécutif de la Fondation Lucie et André Chagnon.

De nombreuses reconnaissances sont venues récompenser les réalisations de Rémi Marcoux, notamment ses nominations à titre d'Officier de l'Ordre du Québec et à l'Académie des Grands Montréalais en 2008. M. Marcoux a été nommé Membre de l'Ordre du Canada en 2007. Il a reçu le prix Harry V. Quadracci VISION Award en 2007 et est entré au Temple de la renommée de l'impression en Amérique du Nord en 2006. Il a été sélectionné quatrième chef d'entreprise le plus estimé par ses pairs au Canada en 2005 et a obtenu un doctorat honoris causa de HEC Montréal en 2003.