Discover the strength of our outsourcing solutions with the stories of two major customers: The Globe and Mail and La Presse
 

The Globe and Mail


The Globe and Mail and TC Transcontinental Printing Transform Canada's Largest Circulation Newspaper into the Newspaper of the Future

 

TC Transcontinental Printing has more than a decade-long relationship with The Globe and Mail, and now produces approximately 90 percent of the newspaper's total daily circulation in five different locations throughout Canada (Vancouver, Calgary, Toronto, Montreal and Halifax). Both the publisher and TC Transcontinental Printing recognize the importance of adapting to changing market conditions.

Customer Challenge: Redesign the newspaper for a new marketplace

Determined to set an industry leading direction for his print newspaper, Publisher and CEO Phillip Crawley summoned the TC Transcontinental Printing team in 2007. He outlined two fundamental requirements:

  • The option to print four-colour process on every page of the newspaper
  • The ability to reproduce high quality advertisements and editorial pages on magazine-quality coated paper


Solution: Revolutionary hybrid press technology delivered through TC Transcontinental Printing's innovative outsourcing model

TC Transcontinental Printing responded by:

  • Installing hybrid presses in three facilities
  • Upgrading presses in the company's Montreal-area facility
  • Adding UV capabilities and increasing prepress colour capacity in the Halifax plant

Running at high speeds, the hybrid presses are able to print The Globe and Mail within a significantly smaller print window and at the highest quality levels. This allows the publisher to offer advertisers magazine quality reproduction with lead times as short as 24 hours and to take advantage of new innovative stand along glossy products. Case in point, The Globe and Mail started printing a high-end Style Advisor section, which attracts high-end advertisers. In 2011, when they launched the magazine-style section, they printed two of them. Three years later, six Style Advisors sections were published.

In October 2010, The Globe and Mail simultaneously launched redesigns of both its paper and online formats. The print version features a number of important changes including:

  • A bolder, more visual overall presentation
  • 100% full-colour pages with more graphics
  • Use of glossy paper stock for specific sections, including a wrap of the news section, and whiter, brighter paper throughout
  • A new emphasis on lifestyle with a daily, full-colour Globe Life section as well as a Globe Style section published only on Saturdays

Case Study: La Presse


Challenge: to invest or not to invest?

In the late 1990s, La Presse had reached a juncture. Its 40-year-old letterpress equipment had to be replaced if the newspaper was to meet both readers' and advertisers' expectations for more colour, higher quality and more targeted distribution. Management had a choice: either continue to print in-house and commit a huge chunk of capital to new equipment or find an alternative that would fit with the newspaper's long-term development objectives.
 
Solution: a partnering agreement with TC Transcontinental Printing
 
La Presse opted to entrust the printing-side of its business to a company whose primary expertise is printing. Publisher Guy Crevier calls the decision to partner with TC Transcontinental Printing a "bet on quality."
 
In exchange for a long-term contract and guaranteed volumes, TC Transcontinental Printing financed construction of a $100-million, state-of-the-art facility in Montreal to print La Presse.
 
A mere 16 months after construction began, the first copies of La Presse redesigned to make the most of increased colour and quality-rolled off the TC Transcontinental Printing press lines right on schedule.
 
The new TC Transcontinental Printing plant is equipped with the technology that can simultaneously print two 48-broadsheet-page sections at a speed of up to 80,000 copies an hour. This increased speed of production translates into later editorial deadlines and earlier delivery.
 
The plant's participatory management style and flexible team-based structure allow for the greatest production efficiency, quality control and responsiveness to the needs of the publisher.

Découvrez plus bas la force de notre modèle d'impartition pour deux de nos clients majeurs : The Globe and Mail et La Presse
 

The Globe and Mail et TC Imprimeries Transcontinental transforment le journal canadien à plus fort tirage en journal de l'avenir

Les relations qui unissent TC Imprimeries Transcontinental et The Globe and Mail depuis plus de dix ans ont évolué au point que TC Imprimeries Transcontinental produit aujourd'hui près de 90 % du tirage quotidien du journal, en cinq endroits différents du Canada (Vancouver, Calgary, Toronto, Montréal et Halifax). L'éditeur comme TC Imprimeries Transcontinental reconnaissent l'importance de s'adapter à l'évolution du marché.


Défi du client: Repenser le journal en fonction des nouvelles réalités du marché

Déterminé à établir une position de leader pour son journal imprimé, Phillip Crawley, éditeur et président-directeur général, a convoqué l'équipe de TC Transcontinental en 2007 pour lui faire part de deux exigences fondamentales:

  • la possibilité d'imprimer chaque page du journal en quadrichromie;
  • la capacité de reproduire des annonces de haute qualité et le contenu rédactionnel sur papier couché de qualité magazine.


Solution: une technologie de presses hybrides révolutionnaire et accessible grâce au modèle d'impartition novateur de TC Imprimeries Transcontinental

Pour répondre à ces demandes, TC Imprimeries Transcontinental a pris les mesures suivantes:

  • l'installation de presses hybrides dans trois de ses usines;
  • la modernisation de ses presses de la région de Montréal;
  • l'ajout de capacités d'impression à encres ultraviolettes et l'accroissement des capacités de couleur à l'imprimerie d'Halifax.

Les presses hybrides fonctionnent à une vitesse qui leur permet d'imprimer The Globe and Mail à l'intérieur d'une fenêtre d'impression beaucoup plus étroite qu'avant et d'obtenir la meilleure qualité possible. Ainsi, l'éditeur est en mesure d'offrir aux annonceurs une reproduction de qualité magazine dans un délai aussi court que 24 heures et de profiter des nouveaux produits innovateurs imprimés d'apparence sur papier glacé. À titre d'exemple, The Globe and Mail a commencé à imprimer Style Advisor, une section haut de gamme qui attire les annonceurs haut de gamme. En 2011, lorsqu'ils ont lancé cette nouvelle section de style magazine, deux numéros ont été imprimés. Trois années plus tard, six éditions avaient été publiées.

En octobre 2010, The Globe and Mail lançait simultanément la version papier et en ligne de son journal redessiné. La version imprimée comportait des changements majeurs, notamment:

  • une présentation générale plus audacieuse et visuelle;
  • la totalité des pages en quadrichromie et une abondance d'éléments graphiques;
  • l'emploi de papier glacé dans certaines sections, y compris une jaquette enveloppant la section principale, et du papier plus blanc et plus brillant dans tout le journal;
  • un accent plus marqué sur l'art de vivre, illustré notamment par une section quotidienne «Globe Life» en quadrichromie et la section « Globe Style », publiée le samedi.

Étude de cas: La Presse

Défi du client : investir ou pas?

À la fin des années 1990, La Presse était confrontée à des choix difficiles. Dotée d'une technologie d'impression dépassant 40 ans, elle se devait de remplacer son équipement afin de mieux répondre aux attentes des lecteurs et des annonceurs à la recherche d'un produit en couleur de plus haute qualité et offrant davantage de possibilités de distribution personnalisée. L'équipe de direction devait trancher : continuer d'assumer les activités d'impression et investir des sommes importantes pour de nouvelles machines, ou trouver une solution qui assurerait l'atteinte des objectifs à long terme.
 
Solution: un partenariat avec TC Imprimeries Transcontinental
 
La direction de La Presse a finalement décidé de confier le volet « impression » de son produit à une entreprise dont c'est d'abord et avant tout la spécialité. L'éditeur Guy Crevier a d'ailleurs qualifié le partenariat avec TC Imprimeries Transcontinental de « pari sur la qualité ».
 
En échange d'un contrat à long terme et de garanties quant au volume, TC Imprimeries Transcontinental a totalement financé la construction d'une imprimerie à la fine pointe de la technologie à Montréal, évaluée à 100 millions de dollars.
 
À peine 16 mois après la première pelletée de terre, les premiers exemplaires redessinés du quotidien La Presse sortaient des presses de TC Imprimeries Transcontinental, obtenant le meilleur des plus récentes technologies d'impression couleur de haute qualité.
 
La nouvelle usine de TC Imprimeries Transcontinental est dotée d'une technologie permettant l'impression simultanée de deux sections de 48 pages à la vitesse de 80 000 exemplaires à l'heure. L'accélération de la production se traduit par une heure de tombée retardée et une livraison hâtive.
 
La gestion participative de l'imprimerie et l'organisation du travail en équipes polyvalentes et flexibles favorisent l'efficacité de la production, le contrôle de la qualité et une réponse rapide aux besoins de l'éditeur.