Christine Desaulniers

Chief Legal Officer and Corporate Secretary, TC Transcontinental

 

In her role as Chief Legal Officer and Corporate Secretary, Christine Desaulniers assumes responsibility for the legal affairs of the Corporation and its subsidiaries as they relate to acquisitions, financing, restructuring, partnerships, commercial contracts, litigation and intellectual property. She also supports the Board of Directors in its functions. 

Since she first joined TC Transcontinental in November 2005, a host of major projects, successfully completed by the Corporation, have borne her professional stamp and benefitted from her extensive expertise. We note, in particular, negotiations for the purchase of PLM Group, Quad/Graphics Canada and the Sun Media's weeklies in Quebec, not to mention a number of other companies specializing in digital, the sale of consumer magazines, and multi-year outsourcing contracts for the printing of daily newspapers such as La Presse and the San Francisco Chronicle in the U.S. More recently, her involvement in the development of packaging, a third sector of activity for the Corporation.   

Prior to her move to TC Transcontinental, Christine Desaulniers spent close to 20 years with Stikeman Elliott LLP, where her duties included, among others, responsibility for the Montreal group's mergers and acquisitions. A member of the Quebec bar since 1987, she holds a law degree from the University of Montreal and a Bachelor of Business Administration from the HEC school of business. In 2011, Ms. Desaulniers's professional achievements were recognized by the Association des diplômés de l'Université de Montréal (Association of Montreal University Graduates) while in 2014, she was nominated for a ZSA award recognizing the excellence of legal counsels in Quebec. Active and dedicated, this woman further lends her support to fundraising events on behalf of various charitable organizations.

Christine Desaulniers

Chef de la direction des affaires juridiques et secrétaire de la Société, TC Transcontinental

Christine Desaulniers est chef de la direction des affaires juridiques et secrétaire de la Société. Dans son rôle, elle assume la responsabilité des aspects juridiques de la Société et de ses filiales, notamment en ce qui a trait aux acquisitions, financements, réorganisations, partenariats, contrats commerciaux, litiges et à la propriété intellectuelle, en plus de seconder le conseil d'administration dans ses fonctions.

C'est en novembre 2005 que Christine Desaulniers se joint à TC Transcontinental. Dès lors, une multitude de projets d'envergure réalisés avec succès par l'entreprise porteront sa signature professionnelle accompagnée d'une vaste expertise, notamment en ce qui concerne la négociation de l'achat de PLM Group et de Quad/Graphics Canada et des hebdomadaires de Sun Media au Québec ou encore de nombreuses compagnies spécialisées dans le numérique, de la vente des magazines aux consommateurs, des contrats pluriannuels d'impartition d'impression de grands journaux dont La Presse et le San Francisco Chronicle aux États-Unis, et plus récemment, du développement du troisième secteur d'activité pour la Société, soit celui de l'emballage.

Avant de se joindre à TC Transcontinental, Christine Desaulniers œuvre pendant près de 20 ans chez Stikeman Elliott S.E.N.C.R.L., s.r.l., entre autres, comme responsable du groupe de Montréal de fusions et acquisitions. Membre du Barreau du Québec depuis 1987, elle est titulaire d'un diplôme en droit de l'Université de Montréal et d'un baccalauréat en administration des affaires de l'École des Hautes Études Commerciales. En 2011, l'Association des diplômés de l'Université de Montréal souligne ses réalisations professionnelles, et, en 2014, Me Desaulniers est en nomination dans le cadre des Prix ZSA des conseillers juridiques du Québec. Femme active et dévouée, elle collabore à divers événements appuyant le financement d'œuvres caritatives.